Project 5: Putting sketches into Illustrator

I decided to keep the timeline with varying sizes of objects to represent the level of interest as the basis of my final design.

First, I wrote down the list of things I usually do in the morning.

Then, I found some pictures on the Internet/my computer to represent the things I do. In the final version, I wanted to use photographs, so I tried to make this as close as possible to what I wanted.

After I figured out what the general structure should be, I saw that I could make it sun-shaped, and that would make sense because morning and sun are two very closely related things. I also noticed that I had 13 objects around the circle, which was very close to 12, so I could also make it similar to a clock. In a way. I added the text to each of the pictures. Initially, I picked a different font size for each caption, so that each of them would take up all the space it could.

Then I realized that bigger font size draws more attention, and things that I didn’t want to emphasize ended up being very important. I changed the font size to be the same for every caption.

My next step was replacing as many pictures as possible with my original pictures.

This version still has a couple drawbacks: the colors are bleak and uninteresting, and there is so much variation in circle size and the color of circle outline, that they seem almost random. The color of circle outline is supposed to represent my mood, so I will need to add a legend to this picture.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment